{"meta":{"title":"Reverting a commit in GitHub Desktop","intro":"You can use GitHub Desktop to revert a specific commit to remove its changes from your branch.","product":"GitHub Desktop","breadcrumbs":[{"href":"/en/desktop","title":"GitHub Desktop"},{"href":"/en/desktop/managing-commits","title":"Managing commits"},{"href":"/en/desktop/managing-commits/reverting-a-commit-in-github-desktop","title":"Reverting a commit"}],"documentType":"article"},"body":"# Reverting a commit in GitHub Desktop\n\nYou can use GitHub Desktop to revert a specific commit to remove its changes from your branch.\n\nWhen you revert to a previous commit, the revert is also a commit. The original commit also remains in the repository's history.\n\n> \\[!TIP]\n> When you revert multiple commits, it's best to revert in order from newest to oldest. If you revert commits in a different order, you may see merge conflicts.\n\n1. In the left sidebar, click **History**.\n\n   ![Screenshot of the \"History\" tab in the sidebar. Above a list of commits, the tab button, labeled \"History\", is highlighted with an orange outline.](/assets/images/help/desktop/history-tab-in-commit-sidebar.png)\n2. Right-click the commit you want to revert and click **Revert Changes in Commit**.\n\n   ![Screenshot of a list of commits in the \"History\" tab. The cursor hovers over the \"Revert Changes in Commit\" option in a context menu.](/assets/images/help/desktop/commit-revert-mac.png)\n\n## Further reading\n\n* [Options for managing commits in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/managing-commits/options-for-managing-commits-in-github-desktop)"}