# Working with your remote repository on GitHub or GitHub Enterprise

As you make changes to your project locally, you can keep them up-to-date with your remote repository. In Git, a remote is the server where your code is stored. In your case, that server is a repository on GitHub or GitHub Enterprise.

## Links

* [Creating an issue or pull request from GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/creating-an-issue-or-pull-request-from-github-desktop)

  You can create an issue or pull request to propose and collaborate on changes to a repository.

* [Syncing your branch in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/syncing-your-branch-in-github-desktop)

  As commits are pushed to your project on GitHub, you can keep your local copy of the project in sync by pulling from the remote repository.

* [Viewing a pull request in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/viewing-a-pull-request-in-github-desktop)

  You can open a pull request branch in GitHub Desktop to view the commit history, run checks, or make changes.

* [Viewing and re-running checks in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/viewing-and-re-running-checks-in-github-desktop)

  You can view the status of checks and re-run them in GitHub Desktop.

* [Configuring notifications in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/configuring-notifications-in-github-desktop)

  GitHub Desktop will keep you up-to-date with notifications about events that occur in your pull request branch.

* [Changing the remote URL for a repository in GitHub Desktop](/en/desktop/working-with-your-remote-repository-on-github-or-github-enterprise/changing-the-remote-url-for-a-repository-in-github-desktop)

  You can change the remote URL for a repository you're working with in GitHub Desktop. You might do this if the repository has been renamed, or the username or organization that owns the repository has changed.