# Redeeming a coupon

If you have a coupon, you can redeem it towards a paid GitHub subscription.

## Prerequisites

> \[!IMPORTANT]
> GitHub can't issue a refund if you apply a coupon to the wrong account or to an account that you have already paid for.

Before you redeem a coupon:

1. Confirm which account the coupon is intended for.
2. Verify that the account you want to apply the coupon to is not already paid for, see [Managing your payment and billing information](/en/billing/how-tos/set-up-payment/manage-payment-info).
3. Be aware that coupons cannot be used for paid plans for GitHub Marketplace apps.

## Redeeming a coupon for your personal or organization account

1. Visit the [Redeem coupon](https://github.com/redeem) page.
2. Type your coupon code and click **Redeem**.
3. If you're not already signed in, you can sign in on this page, or create a new account to apply your coupon to.
4. Under "Redeem your coupon", click **Choose** next to the username of the account to apply the coupon to.
5. Under "Your new plan", review the information about your plan and discount, then click **Redeem**.

## Redeeming a coupon for your enterprise

Redeeming a GitHub Enterprise Cloud coupon will create a new enterprise account. You can't redeem a coupon for an existing enterprise account yourself. If you have an existing enterprise account and want to redeem a coupon, you can [contact GitHub Support](/en/support/contacting-github-support).

1. Visit the [Redeem coupon](https://github.com/redeem) page.
2. Type your coupon code and click **Redeem**.
3. If you're not already signed in, you can sign in on this page, or create a new account to apply your coupon to.
4. Select the organization that you would like to add to your new enterprise.
5. Under "Your new plan", review the information about your plan and discount, then click **Redeem**.

## When the coupon expires

If you use a coupon to pay for a subscription, when the coupon expires you will be charged the **full cost** for that subscription if you have a **payment method defined**.

If you **do not have a payment method defined**, your account will be affected:

* Personal accounts are downgraded to GitHub Free
* Organization accounts are downgraded to GitHub Free
* Enterprise accounts are locked until you add a payment method